Sunday, 22 March 2026

Sunday morning once again ๐Ÿค—


Love Sundays ❤️ as it's the day many take off to reflect on the week past. Some cut their lawn, do their shopping, visit friends or family, or take a hike on a unusual trail, or a drive to another place, beach, or park. Some go to church. Today I'm not sure what we'll do yet, how we decide when no sure plans have been made is left to the morning getup, and what we talk about. 

A drive now with gas and for us diesel prices makes us think just a little more about the trip. Buying another car & possibly selling Rambo has been on our minds lately, but Polly said, "let's just wait a year, see how things go, see if we decide to get another camping trailer, just wait, maybe buy a small car." I agreed, so am looking at cars, and not sure what will be our new vehicle. 

6:40 now, coffee ☕ is ready, was a late night for us, we went to a birthday party Ivan turned 39 again, ๐Ÿฅณ ๐ŸŽ‰ then a dance last night, was fun to dance for a change, been a long time since we really danced as much as we did, knee told me so this morning. Was fun, meeting people we hadn't seen for a long time, and seeing others from a distance, a wave ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป was nice, I didn't feel I had to talk with everyone. Beaver Creek Hall is along way from town, but was a good time had by many. 

I made a sign yesterday in the back of the Santa I'd made for Christmas, was a spring sign, one welcoming the ๐ŸŒž celebrating the beginning of warmer weather. I used all acrilic paint, except for the black on the eyes, I didn't have any acrilic so I use this other one that washed away in the rain last night, so a redo is in order today. I wanted to make some changes anyway. Was fun to paint again. 

I made a birdhouse for Ivan, thought he could use it at his camp in the summer,
they go to the same place every summer, a beautiful campground on the inlet, not too far from town. Well have to go visit him and Wendy this summer for sure. 

I'm not sure what I'll make next, I also have a bed that folds up that I have to make a decision on, do I cut it up and use it in my shop as a bench, or do I try to reassemble it to use in our spare room? It's been sitting in our sunroom awhile now, gotta decide soon. 

I have a bad habit of collecting things and saying I'll deal with it later, well later can take a long time, and things start piling up, so this I'll deal with this week for sure. I want to get our sun room ready for our sunny mornings, not a storage room. For now I'm going to get a coffee ☕, and read a little of the news about our world, then hopefully Polly will get up, and our day will develop. 

Yep, sure do love our life ❤️ 



Saturday, 21 March 2026

Why do I cry when people win against evil?

Watching Equalizer 3 again at the end I teared up, and wondered why? I know, I'm not surprised, just wondering what triggers it? We all want to win, have the good guys win, and even though I know it's just a show, I'm completely absorbed in it. I'm hoping that the good will overcome, and whenever it does I'm overcome with a feeling of? Happy, peace, righteous, just feeling the good won! 

Looking at the story, it ended with the bad guys getting killed, But! There were more, and in one scene the head bad guy says if it wasn't me selling the drug's somebody else would. 

Making me think he's right, as looking about in this world the war on drugs as it was called has not changed things, drugs are even more available now than before. No matter how many people get arrested, or how much of the drug's have been taken away, the street always seems to be full of what people want. 

So the feeling of the good guy wins is temporary, as the bad seems to win overall, as another steps up to take there place if one falls. 

Delema is what to do? What to believe? What's good? What's bad? Who's to determine that? 

We all have a moral code, not all the same, but our own code to live by.

Criminal behavior is operating on there own moral code, I'm not sure what that is, but I'm sure it's not mine. 

Reading what's happening in our world now I'm always thinking with my moral code. Others in this world are operating with their own moral code, criminal? Not that the laws, or the lawyer's or politicians are labeled as criminals, in their minds they are performing under their own moral code. 

Mostly I try not to think about it too much, but I do just the same. 

Hope is what we have to hang onto, hope that it will be ok in awhile, maybe next week, next month, next year! Hope is really how we endure this bazaar time in our life. 

What can we do? Write ✍๐Ÿป a letter, speak to you representative? Buy this, don't buy that, exercise restraint. Travel less, spend less. Us right now, we are enjoying this moment in time, our retirement that is closer to home. Worry is a waste of the moment, so just for today I'm quite content to watch a good movie, call our good friends, and sit beside my Love, even as I write she's watching another cooking show ๐Ÿ˜›, to my benefit. 

             Just had to eat the last piece 

Love our life ❤️ 

Thursday, 19 March 2026

Patient's. No not in hospital, in me!

Sometimes I have patience, most times but when I fired up my laptop today I found myself wanting it to be as fast as my phone. I realized it's just not from the same era, made at a different time, in a different way. My patients in time gave me opportunity to check out what I had on my computer that I'd forgotten. 

I tapped into my memory of time's gone by, so many great memories. Starting with memories of our sons photos, then cabin photos, and friends, and videos I made on July 1st, at Saratoga Beach with Americo & Claudette ❤️. Yep a lot of great memories, even a huge file of Africa memories, that was a good look at how beautiful that trip was, and the memory of just how I was feeling after Chris's funeral, as it was just a month before we went to Africa, a very tender time for Polly and I. 

Patient's was rewarded today, still so much different with a laptop vs the ease of clicking on the screen of my phone. 

Last week Polly & I watched a few videos on DVD that I'd recorded on our video camera many years ago, when our grandchildren were younger. Was fun to see and remember when our grandchildren were so young, and the fun time's we had with them. We are both really happy with the time's we took to enjoy their youth, happy to have not only a memory, as well as video to watch to remember. 


I've always loved photos, and video fits right in too. I learned that just taking a video wasn't like making a movie, as to make it interesting and watchable for others, ya have to edit it, get the interesting parts, and delete the less interesting parts. As the one taking most of the video, I can watch most all of it, but others, not so much. 


I don't have to show them off, just enjoy them myself, with Polly, but a few I'll bring out for the kids to watch as they will get a chance to see themselves when young, be fun to watch them watch themselves and others in the family. 

Some of the DVD's don't play, so I'm going to try another DVD player, see if I can get them working. One really special one I want to get working, I remember the time we really want to show our granddaughter Shayla, as well as others. There was a time when we had Shayla and Jayden for over a month when Catherine was injured. That was a really special time for us being so close with them, daily enjoying the daily fun we'd had together. 

Nice to have some recorded, that we can see with them now. 

Rain is persistent today, going to be staying close to home today, I know I won't melt, but not wanting to go out in it. 
I worked at getting my little shop just a little more organized the last few days, trying to get a for sure plan of how I'll lay out the best way for the work to flow. Just so much in it, hard to decide where everything will Go. Maybe today be the day it gets done? That's if I don't go building something else ๐Ÿคฃ. 

Friends to visit this afternoon, dinner out tomorrow, another birthday ๐ŸŽ‚ to celebrate ๐Ÿฅณ, Saturday a dance, and another birthday celebration ๐ŸŽ‰ ๐ŸŽ‰ ๐ŸŽ‰. 
Busy is good, 
Sure do love our life ❤️ 


Sunday, 15 March 2026

Sunday morning, early spring now ๐ŸŒž

Snow/rain forecast, I'm thinking be warming up, and the rain is a coming. Had the best sunny day yesterday, building a couple more planters, installed 5 planters I made on a neighbours deck. Good productive day I say. Polly went to Parksville with Lyn, of course a little shopping, and a trip to the pub for a Keno possibility, they do enjoy there time together ❣️ I got to enjoy my time building. 

We all have our own interests, whatever turns your? Or another is whatever floats your boat! Me I like working with wood, and just enjoying this in my retirement is perfect for me. I also enjoy writing here, well pecking on this phone computer camera, LoL who ever thought we'd have so much power in the palm of our hand? 

Polly gets me a coffee ☕, and on her way said to the little box we got from our grandson Jesse, "Google Play 70s music" ๐ŸŽถ ๐ŸŽต and it does. Amazing I think that we can order something to do what ya want with a verbal order. 

Mmm  ๐Ÿ˜‹ ☕ coffee is good this morning, I just had to turn the music down a bit, "Hey Google, turn down 10%" and it does. Life is good, even with all the pains and creeking and older body has. Long cool woman in a black dress just came on, yep great way to start our Sunday. 9am now, no solid plans today, dinner at Penny's is cancelled, Jet's got a cold, so doesn't want us infected. 

I'm sure I'm going to get into my shop for awhile as I stuck lots of wood in there yesterday to dry out a little, the black I need to paint the trim with needs dry wood to stick properly. Thinking back to the last few days, I've been busy in a good way, weather has cooperated, tee shirt ๐Ÿ‘• weather. Content to sit this morning though and peck here a bit.

We have been thinking of what we'll get as a camper for our summer, and travel, just not sure what'll work best for us. Polly a definite no to a camper, small pull trailer be just a little too small, started looking at small fifth wheel trailer I'm thinking this be best, then keep Rambo. We did talk about a van for sleeping in, but no toilet be no good for us. Anyway no decision yet, mind that's kinda how we roll, a little talk, a little research, then a little more yak. 

Well come to terms with it in the future, till then we keep thinking, keep looking. We have been asked many times now if we miss travel, if we miss our trailer and way of life. Sometimes we do but mostly we're very happy with our new home, all around just very happy and surprised how quickly it all came to pass. Content is how I'd describe it. 

Now the order from Polly "Hey Google shut down" and the TV goes on. I LoL a little as a program gets picked now, Polly is very good at the remote. I'll be heading out to the shop pretty soon, not to interested in the TV early in the day. 

Yup Sunday morning 
Sure do love our life ❤️ 

Sunday, 22 February 2026

How do you write after the loss.

Watched the wizard of Oz last night, sure was fun to see again, been so many years since we had seen it. So much we never noticed when we last saw it. ๐Ÿง™๐Ÿป‍♀️๐Ÿงน

Woke this morning to Polly coming back to bed, tied, 1-0 for USA she said. Our feed was buggerd she said. Both of us have colds, I took a pill when I was awake at 2 am, Polly stayed up, she was awake at 1:30, it's taking it's toll on us. Anyway, now I couldn't go back to sleep, so up I get and get the TV back on line, and now 1-1 tie 2nd period ends. 

Polly says she's done, staying in bed, I'm watching the 3rd now. Great play, but no goals so off to OT. Didn't turn out in our favor. Darn I say in other words, was expecting a different outcome. Oh well, someone has to loose, even though I'm not really alright with it. 

So now what? Watching a few videos, then to a series we were told about by our granddaughter, maybe that'll take the sting out. I think it's day 5 for me, Polly just getting to her worse day, cold always an unwelcome hack, hack, feeling. I always say, oh! I'm feeling better today, well let's hope this time it's true. Polly have another couple days before she's better. Just something we have to go through once in awhile. Been a long time since we've had one, and many have had it in town this year. So our turn.

I made 4 planters this week, but have no desire to make more yet, early in the year. I'll get energy again sometime, just coasting right now. We have watched a lot of TV this winter, different when we stay put, not traveling as before. We did have a busy weekend last weekend, was nice to see everyone on Sunday, people we don't get to see often, Friday and Saturday, birthday and a dinner/concert dance in town visited with many here in Port too, made for a busy weekend. 

Had to turn down a dinner invite yesterday and and couple birthdays, oh well can't go when not feeling well. Today we are starting a new series Mayor of Kingstown, Taylor Sheridan I see again, man how many series has he written?
Well so far seems like a good interesting show, will see as it goes. 

Sunday morning rains, weather has changed now, warmer & even with the rain ☔ is appreciated. On to a movie instead, Grace & Goliath, is a fun movie ๐Ÿฟ. 

Even when we're sick 
Love our life ❤️ 



Wednesday, 18 February 2026

I gotta cold, watching Canadian team play.

As the second period ends, Crosby is off injured, game is 2-2. I'm saying team has to step it up! As the commentors talk about how big a deal it is having Crosby put out of the game, Czech's really pounded him. Polly goes to "Is Crosby married?" I'm like ๐Ÿ˜œ "what's that got to do with Crosby being outta the game?" We catter about it, me saying "if she was a trainer giving him some attention, then I'd understand, but I don't get the switch being" "I wonder if he's married? 

Well between periods I learned Crosby and his GF been together 20 years, she's a sports illustrated model, now we know. I know we think differently, that's something I already knew, but in this case I was just learning again just how different we think. 

Polly is more competitive that I am, so she's more invested in the game, yet we both want our Canadian team to win. I just laugh at how different we think about the same game. I have a man cold, maybe that's why I'm not thinking about correctly. 

That's always a joke, "man cold" but I gotta say, feeling really shitty making my thoughts different I believe. Along with all the other stuff I gotta deal with getting older, that just compounds it. Good thing our teams performing good ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป, but so are the Czech's. 

Nervous now, feeling like the game between Canada and USA already predetermined, but we have to win this one. 

On another matter, Rambo went to the transmission shop yesterday, I think the whining underneath has been truly diagnosed, is the overdrive unit on the back end of the transmission that's got problems. Steve didn't have the tools to be able to take this apart, so we've decided to trust the job to B&A transmission. A busy shop, but expect to get to it this week. Be nice to have all good again. 

Ok games back on, Polly watching the baby she calls him #17 Celebrini, young player making a name for himself during this Olympics. Polly's armchair coaching is getting really animated as the time starts running close, "ohh no, ooohhh no" Polly saying "big trouble!" Czechia score's๐Ÿ˜œ

Ok now "Go go go, don't stop!" The armchair coaching gets very aggressive. 
As I'm replying to a message from a friend, wohoooo! Polly screaming, leg's flopping up and down, she's really into the game now, I am but Polly is really on it! 


Great way to spend our morning, hockey ๐Ÿ’ game Canada back in it, 3-3 now. Polly full coaching now, "where is the little 19year old, let him score the goal!" 
I got say excited she is, good game alright. A breakaway, and a save, "good boy" Polly says, yep fully invested now. 

I'm going to watch, oops, period ends now, or coming up. I'm going to cut it off now, watch the other period, hoping that Canada will win, as I listen to Polly coach them to the win we're hoping for! ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ’

Go Canada!

Love our life ❤️ 



Sunday, 15 February 2026

Sunday travel day. Hockey ๐Ÿ’ day too.

                            6-1 

A little sore today as I woke, back just not as I'd like it, sitting last night at the Elton John performance got to me. Was a fun evening, with friends, dinner was great, the performance was good too, after he got the equipment to perform properly. Best part being with friends Don and Bev Lloyd, along with their family. Lyn and Andrew came too, made for a really good evening. 

I think the planters I was making yesterday helped me make my back sore too, standing too much. Sometimes I just don't have patience for my limitations, just wanna do what I want without having to adjust for my limitations. Thinking about it now, I'm freaking lucky I can do what I can do. 

Enough of the bitchin, today we travel to Courtenay for a fire ๐Ÿ”ฅ on the beach with friends there, or best friends are busy with their grandsons birthday ๐ŸŽ‚, so they won't be there this time, but the rest we look forward to seeing. Not a long distance, but the travel we both look forward to, sometimes I miss the getting out on the road we have been used to with our trailer behind. 

This time will be travel in our friends van, as Rambo still not repaired, got to go to the transmission shop tomorrow, overdrive unit I'm told is the problem. Gotta get it right this time ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป not always sure what's making the noise. 

This morning the Olympic hockey ๐Ÿ’ game is our start, thanks to Steve reminding me. Canada vs France. We really haven't watched much yet, but since I started watching the curling as my grandson was interested, got me seeing the big call by a swedish team calling the Canadian team cheater's. That's a huge deal, big story this morning I read. Who ever thought I'd be following curling. That's life, surprise around the corner, just never know. 

Today's hockey game I believe is determined, Canada will win, the game that really is a test is Canada vs USA. No Russian team's this round of the Olympics, I'm still in awe of this, a war that continues while we watch Olympics on TV. I shake my head as I can't really believe how odd our world is. We are so fortunate to be where we are, and enjoying all the benefits we have access to.

3-1 for Canada now, not a wipeout, Suzuki hits the post, Polly says "Ahh, ya heard that hey!" Polly plays her game on her tablet, and deal's out her play by play๐Ÿ’๐Ÿคฃ
4-1 now, yep going to be big score. Funny how we expect our team to win. Nice to have a really good team to cheer for. 

Well that's our plan today, will travel to Victoria on Wednesday, visit a friend there in hospital. Then next week to Chemainus for another Dr checkup. The life of a person who stays put now, I wonder if this will change? I was looking at trips to Thailand the other day, Polly got excited, I'm thinking we will wait till the fall, be our next big trip. Who knows where we'll end up? Kinda nice to have a surprise every once in awhile. 

Goalie is down now, new blade, amazing, just pop in a new blade, and back to goal tending. Things really have changed. 

Gotta get ready now, lucky us today, OMG, a penalty shot now ๐Ÿ˜ฏ. He score's with his parents on camera watching. Celebrini, scores, now Crosby scores, yep going to be a wipeout. Crosby setting a record. 

Travel day, 
Sure do love our life ❤️ 









Thursday, 12 February 2026

How's your morning?

   Made a clock this week, I do like Wood


I'm having a wonderful morning this morning, got a reel set to me last night by a friend that was of a comedian's act on stage, had me LoL first thing, so funny he was. Then during my first coffee I got a reel come up of Jonny Cash and Kris Kristopherson singing Sunday morning coming down. Was really good, I listened for most the song, then I just had to do a little research. 

I looked up where Kris Kristopherson was born, Brownsville, Texas, well that got me doing the searches. Kris was always a favorite of mine, yet I never looked at where he was from, or about his life. I learned that he is said the guy that changed Nashville, pre Kris and post Kris I read, WOW. 

I do like that I can just peck here and there on this phone/computer and get information so darn quickly. I remember the first time I went to an article on Texas, about the history. WOW, I was blown away how the highlighted blue writing would take me to another part of the history. I was deep into the history of Texas in minutes, of course it felt like minutes, looking back I'm not sure how long it took, but wow did I get an education. 

Well today I got a similar feeling, as when I started looking back at his career, I was thinking what a change up he did, from the jock military kinda guy to the artist as he seemed to always love. 

Ya just never know how things will go hey. Sill I love that I can research things early when I've not yet started to move about, my morning is early, and don't move too fast, but my finger on the phone sure does, along with my brain. 

I'm going to do a little more searching about Kris, got a couple movies I'll watch he made. I wonder if they will make a movie about him? He was quite a guy, sure do love his music. 

Just thought I had to write this down. 

Sure do love our life ❤️ 
Polly still sleeping ๐Ÿ˜ด.

Sunday, 8 February 2026

Sunday morning, game day for many!

This morning I woke to a conversation with my grandson in law about curling, he was watching Canada vs Sweden, I turned it on too, just to see what was up. I'm not a curling fan so much, but was interesting just the same. 

I scrolled through the News on my phone, while I drank my coffee ☕, hearing a loss for Canada, as the Swede's blocked heavily at the end for a win. What do I know? 

As I watched I kept scrolling through the news, Cuba came up with the crisis continuing there, with no fuel for most anything, although been like this awhile, getting worse as Venezuela was the steady supply, now that's gone. 

My thoughts went to the people, we did visit there once and the people we as we are, friendly happy, yet odd in that a well educated person would work at a tourist job, as their own profession wouldn't pay as much. Odd fo us to understand, yet their own society was Free education, free health care, but broke?! 

My thoughts went to the people, like us, with no way to change things. Then to that here we are flipping through channels, comfortable in our homes, while around the world still people slept on the floor, waking to continued poor life, with no way to change it. 

I hear as I watch hockey ๐Ÿ’ now, Russia not allowed to participate in Olympics this year. Hmm, I wonder what the athletes are doing in Russia, how they are thinking. When you train to that level, and only one chance to go to the Olympics often, just imagine, again no control over what you're government does and how it effects you. Although in Russia I'm thinking the top athletes get treated good, as long as the athletes are able to compete. 

Sweden scores, France not happy. 

It's light out now, every day light a little earlier, love this, feeling of optimism with the more light early and later in our day's. Polly is up now, no frills on her radar today, gotta get the deals she read about yesterday. 

Life goes on, as I read on, now about the PPWC Union president about the plight of the 400 workers he represents, loosing their jobs this month. 

         Reflection is the hockey game 

Sweden is beating france 2-0 now, Cuban's woke to no bus to get to town, or home from town, and Ukraine, I can't really imagine. Every day I thank my lucky Stars! 

Canada plays at 12:10 Polly tells me now, I love how she thinks, priorities ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’
Seahawks at the Superbowl later today be our game to watch. 

Love our life ❤️ 


Sunday, 1 February 2026

Sunday morning, almost afternoon now.

Grandchildren talk today, our granddaughter Taylor, she's in Grande Prairie Alberta, miss her, but a video call does help. She's always gives a Snapchat, so often get some kind of message daily. Was really nice to chat with her. 
A message to our other granddaughter Shayla, was good, a message from my daughter Penny was nice this morning early too. Most every day we message. 

Polly talked with her sister Lyn, she mostly does every other day, they are very close. 

Later we talked with our good friends in Ontario, Mike & Linda, was really nice to catch up, as we haven't seen each other for a couple years now. 

A message with our good friends Americo & Claudette was nice too, always keeping in touch with them. 

So much good communication today, is a really good Sunday so far. 

Sun's out now, so we went for a drive out towards China Creek, I've been wanting to see where the fire was this past summer. WOW, was much different that I'd imagined. More small trees burned than I thought would be. Whole mountains burned up, what a shame it is.


 Power lines are replaced temporarily with lines buried on the edge of the road, poles to be replaced in the future, and lines rehung on them. I hear the power lines are what started the fire, a transformer blowing up. 


On our way back I turned down the Franklin River road, that led to the sawmill at the mouth of the river. Had a look around there, I'd never driven there before, just saw it from the water as we drove by in the boat for many years on our way to our cabin. Lots of hemlock being cut there, I thought filling the orders that the APD might have had before it was shut down. 

Change happens, sometimes like a fire, quick and extreme. Other times like our mills shutting down, that takes a little longer, but here we are almost no sawmills left in Port Alberni, just small mills, and our papermill. What a change, all I've seen in my lifetime. 

I wonder what's yet to come? 


Love our life changing life ❤️ 



Saturday, 31 January 2026

Watching "A complete unknown"

Thinking of our transition's in somewhat recent history as I watch and think how has our society got to here after such thoughtful music of days gone by. Folk songs we were raised on, seem to be forgotten now. In the midst of this new world order as I've been hearing said, the lessons that the music brought seems to have not just faded, but has been covered over with the BS of this hmm, new Wave. 

Do we have to renew our way's every few generations? Is this what's happening now? It feels like the New is covering over the past lessons, like when a wall is plastered over, except when ya plaster a wall, you going for smooth, what I see is a mess, bumpy, craggy, looking, ruff, crack's all over. 

I just saw the door ๐Ÿšช of the apartment that Bob and his girlfriend lived in, was all full of crack's, as the show goes to the revolution in Cuba, along with the News about this event. Amazing we hear of this again, Cuba changing again. 

I'm thinking that as with fashion, and clothes changing, that our society is the same, out with the Old, in with the New! 
As I listen to him then Joan Biaz join in, sing "Blowing in the wind" the line I always pick up on is "Yes, and how many times must the cannonballs fly
Before they're forever banned?"

I'm not sure we have learned about this, as daily we see more bomb's fly, now with drone's, we, (the instigator of the action) are, further away from where the bombs hit than ever before. Actually I'm sure we have not learned this lesson, and looking at how the way things are going we may never learn. 

Bob Dylan is like a poet singing through his poems that tell a lesson each one. Too bad we the people of the world listen, yet continue to battle for what we consider the freedom we desire. Folk songs are great, yet the world seems to be headed for that smashing crashing of the heavy Rock, without the roll! 

Appropriately, the next song is "The time's they are a changing" yep they sure are, again and again. That's my lesson for today, for me, change is one thing that continues, regardless what I, or any of us  think it should be, could be, or wish it to be. 

Who decides the direction change will be? Hmm, I'm not privy to that information, mostly I think "whatever", as I can make my mind up what I believe moral, and others do the same. What comes we judge, but it'll come anyway, no matter our beliefs or thoughts. 

Deep thoughts today, as the rains pound down, changing our landscape I see from the news on my phone, flooding here and there, roads closed, community's cutoff, landslides, tree's falling, yep change is one thing we can count on. 

Good day to watch this movie for a second time, Polly says "Boy is it Ever Raining out there!" Yeppers a good day to stay in. 

Love our life ❤️ even with the rainy days 





Sunday, 25 January 2026

Sunday morning calm here.


I woke this morning still a little tired, 5:20am, still a pretty good sleep. Thinking of our evening, dinner with friends was great. So much fun, meeting each other after many moons of time passed. Two couples we had visited with in the last couple months, but one couple we hadn't seen for awhile. 

Remembering the time's we had spent at Cluxewe camping in the late summer end of August early September we've had wonderful time's with these friends. We changed our travel plans a few years ago, so no September in Cluxewe, that made for much different times. The question came up last night, "Will you be going to Cluxewe this fall?" "I'm not sure" was my answer, as we have been going to Grande Prairie in the late summer early fall for the last few years, visiting our grandchildren there. 

I do think we would like to, but arranging this, I'm just not sure right now, Polly and I have to talk about it, how we'd still get our visit in with our grandkids and camp at Cluxewe too. Someone mentioned we could book a cabin there at that time,? Hmm, not the experience I'd be looking for, but hmm, a thought. 

That conversation disappeared quickly, as with 8 of us all shooting off thoughts during the evening, we had lots of catching up to do, and discovering more about each other during our evening. 

Dinner was great, Polly made a really good spaghetti sauce, and some had seconds, wine flowed well, and ceaser salad was great along with cheeseee garlic bread, such a wonderful dinner. Conversation slowed, but not too much, joke's were told, and funny stories, can't say enough about just how much fun the evening was. 

8 people, all from different walks of life getting together, as we would camping, without the smoke from the fire ๐Ÿ”ฅ this time. Fireplace was on, but with all the yak, we really didn't notice it too much. 
I didn't take any photos, but as I tried this morning to take a picture of the fireplace I realized photos won't save to my phone? Bugger, now got to figure this out? Oh well, just another bit of mystery to my day๐Ÿ˜†

Polly's up now, after 8, so time for me to get busy doin something. Off goes the fireplace, and up I get. 

Sure do love our Life ♥️ in one place ๐Ÿ‘

Everybody wants to rule the world ๐ŸŒŽ

Rule? 

Thinking about this line "Everybody wants to rule the world" as I listen to the music ๐ŸŽถ singing this song Saturday afternoon, after reading about another person with his daughter being taken from their home to Texas for and held till March when a judge will hear their case. Wondering how that will go? 

Our prime minister is taking a lead in decisions to make sure Canada continues to move ahead, but in a different direction. I'm not sure if this will be our best bet, but I do believe that status quo is not going to be our future, change is happening whether we like it or not. 

I have read much lately that gives me thought of who's in charge? Who does rule the world? ๐ŸŒŽ.  I know there are mighty superpowers that believe "might is right" another saying I've heard before, kinda like the bully in the playground. I never thought that was how our world would operate, I always believed that law and order was the way. These days I'm not so sure anymore. 

I've read about people quoting how people should behave, while people are breaking the rules of their own country, and people are breaking the rules of war! I really don't understand that there are rules of anything anymore, seems like people, many people are doing whatever they want now, rules don't apply, at least to them, as the expect others to operate within the rules. 

I'm quite confused, yet at the same time I'm also quite content with my life. Should I do something to change things? I'm not likely to do much, just watching and listening to what's going on! LoL now this song words are "Hey hey hey hey, What's going on" so appropriate. I think this radio station is following my mind ๐Ÿ˜‚.


We have company for dinner tonight, friends we camped with 8 of us be here, that we would have not been able to do in our fifth wheel, at least not all at the same table. Will be a fun I'm sure. I listen as Polly gives the tour, our friends the first couple have arrived, our new home is giving us much pleasure. 


Fortunate us to have found this new to us home at this time in our lives ❤️ 

Sure do love our life ❤️ 





Sunday, 18 January 2026

Sunday again! Day's and weeks flying by.

Foggy start to another beauty day ๐ŸŒž๐Ÿ˜Ž

Being north this winter is a change from our usual winter, although it's really been nice catching up with family and friends that we just didn't get to see over the last many years. When we moved out of town to Ladysmith for work, then in retirement we only had a half year in BC, and even that is cut to visit in Grande Prairie, or other parts of Canada as we traveled. 

So being here in Port Alberni has been a really great time again, seeing people that we haven't seen for many years. I'm thinking it's kinda like a reunion every time we go to town ๐Ÿคฃ, really. 

Today we are going to Courtenay for a visit with a friend that we met when we were in Newfoundland a few years ago. Winston helped us see that city of Saint John's just a little better than the tourists we were. During our time there we looked him up as his sister Cindy said he'd love to give us a tour of his hometown. He's come to the Island for a visit and looking after Cindy and Ray's house as they holiday south. 

Polly often talks of just how wonderful Winston was showing us around his home town, giving us a look at places that we would likely have never thought to go see. It will be nice to see Winston again, we got to know him quite well during our stay in Saint John's, I'm thinking we were there a month that time we visited. 

Our friends Americo and Claudette will join us, lunch at a pub with good friends, what better way to spend a Sunday afternoon. I hear the weather be sunny ๐Ÿ˜Ž too, that'll be nice, Port Alberni has been basted in fog the last few days, be nice to see the sun ๐ŸŒž again. 

I woke this morning thinking of my little shop that I need to organize so I can start making things again. I have everything in it, and can move around, but it's really tight, I need to develop a good plan for where everything will be setup. Once I got up I started thinking how it will be, I'm soon to go out and move a few things around to begin with, just get an idea of how my work flow will work. 

When I had my tent setup at our campsite, I often used my mitre saw outside, with a cover on it so it didn't get wet when it rained, but here I'm trying to have it inside, ? Not sure that's going to work. I attached it to a plywood box I'd picked up last year when I bought a stand for the saw, but the stand that I thought would work out, was cumbersum, and heavy, so not really portable as I'd thought it would be. So now I'm experimenting with the idea of a stand on wheels, that I can expand as needed, and tucked away when not in use. 

I went to a site called SketchUp, going to try it, they have a Free tryout, but I feel like too much learning to get that right, I'm thinking paper, and pencil ✏️ be my best opinion, or just get in the shop and start moving stuff around. That's most likely what's going to happen. 

Anyway, I'm looking forward to building stuff again, that's my goal, not the planning, but the building. Planters again for spring, and I'm sure a few more things that I'm thinking of, benches, I have a few really big pieces of cedar that I've been hanging onto for 3 or more years, I'd really like to make something really nice out of them, as really clear red cedar, 2" thick, 7' long, and about 18" wide. I'm hoping this be the year I create something from these 3 pieces. 

When I started doing the woodworking I just had minimal access to wood, often using pallets to build, I still really like working with them too, but I have acquired many other pieces that I need to put to use, so I can collect something else. Sounds funny, but I do find myself looking at wood wherever I go, the kind, the grain, the beauty. Is it an obsession? I snicker, I'm thinking is LoL ๐Ÿคฃ 

Anyway, here I sit early morning again, 7 am now, going to get my ass outta this seat, and go stand in my little shop and see what comes of my thoughts in there. Easier to imagine where what will go standing there. We leave at 10am, so not too much will get done, but I'm hoping I'll get the idea I've been searching for. 

Another great Sunday.

Sure do love our life ❤️ 

Sunday, 11 January 2026

Sunday always a special day to me.

   Water was everywhere yesterday WOW 


I remember for many years as a young boy that Sunday was a special dinner, a roast usually, my Mom would make, sometimes with Yorkshire pudding ๐Ÿฎ, which really isn't pudding. Was a special time, a time we would be a family, and often friends be with us too.

At Christmas my mom when we were older had two men that we felt a part of our family come and stay with us during Christmas, one was Arnie, he was a guy from Naniamo, a Norwegian man, he was a typesetter for the naniamo free press that had no one to be with at Christmas, the other man was Mom's cousin Doug, and old fisherman from Ucluelet that also had no place at Christmas. Mom somehow took them in, and for the Christmas season we were all family. 

I don't think of them often now, but I do remember that feeling of family at Christmas and how it felt all being together. I also remember the feeling after Christmas, like now, how it felt when everyone left, a kinda sad feeling. 

This year I'm not really feeling that way, as we have lots to do in our new to us place, although I do miss the people we got to know in Florida at the Crooked Hook, along with the people we got to know in Yuma at both Fortuna and Sundance, the card room, many great laughs there. 

Funny, looking back the things ya remember, on a Sunday many times I'd stay at our friends overnight, a party of some kind with Americo & Claudette in Courtenay, I'd get up early, and off I'd go with my camera, a walk about to town, or to the park, always something to see. Having the camera gave me optunity to see it even better. 

Today I'm going for a walk about too, I'm not sure where yet, but it's Sunday, and so far it's not raining. But I'll likely bring an umbrella just in case lol. We have a dinner planned, some of our family, be nice to yak it up, maybe play cards, for sure be some goffing off. Just enjoying each other, on a Sunday ๐Ÿค—.

Once in awhile I listen to a song by Kris Kristopherson, "Sunday morning coming down"  it's sad but comforting somehow. 
I think I'll listen to that today, just once! 
Maybe even on the TV, YouTube has most anything we can imagine available. 


Yep, another Sunday, love our life ❤️ 





Saturday, 10 January 2026

A Waste of good material!


My thoughts as I flicked through my Pinterest page that comes up regularly saying "things you might like", well even though the sight caught my eye, I really dislike seeing wood wasted. A huge block of wood, with a major part cut out, to make a void for a light. 

I'm not sure why this project was sent as something I'd like, but yesterday I saw something on marketplace that really caught my eye, a lamp that can use pieces of what is call waste wood, as sometimes I have strips of cedar left over, always thinking what can I use it for? Well this I believe will be a project I can create. 

Using waste is not my only goal in creating a project, whatever it might be, but using something that otherwise would be discarded as waste, along with using something that doesn't cost anything to begin with, so many pieces of wood are real beautiful, yet discarded as too small, has knots, or some rot. 

So much can be created with leftovers pieces. Anyone can go to the lumber store, buy products that are complete shaped exactly, and new, straight, rot free, perfect. But I believe taking something that's inferior to many and creating, seeing the beauty in it as it is, is my talent. I can see the beauty in a less that perfect piece of wood. 

I'm no building carpenter, I'm not trained, except for my own life lessons, and of course YouTube instructions ๐Ÿคซ of course we all have that on our side now. Mostly I get an idea, then I work to create it, in my fumbling way. This week it was a sliding garbage bin that fits under our sink. 

There were limitations under the sink that gave to me making it, rather than buying one. See the plumbing is ready low, and centered under the two sinks, so my limitations were 12"deep, cupboard width and 3" under the bottom of drain pipe. 


This is the side I choose to make it for, as the other side already has Polly's cleaning and dish washing stuff. Looks bigger than it is, only 12" deep, just big enough for our garbage container we already had. 


Seems like an easy job, but fitting it in was a trial and error thing, that caused many up and down stairs to my little unorganized shop. Still, it's done now, not perfect, but it works, and Polly is happy with it, shelf behind to contain the bags for the bin. 

I had the drawer slides, and all the bits of wood I had as well, and the tools to build it. I really like building with wood, but until my shop's setup properly, I'll be just doing the stuff here that needs to be done. 

As I go I'll continue to take screenshots of possible projects, knowing a time will come that I can and will be building more pleasing things, and most be with beautiful discarded pieces of wood ๐Ÿชต.

We have friends coming for dinner tonight, Polly is in her element now, roast chicken, and I see chocolate pie with raspberries on top coming to our table ๐Ÿ˜‹

Sure do love our mobile home life ❤️


Look what just was placed in my lap Mmm ๐Ÿ˜‹ tastes just like chocolate pudding Mmm. More waste ๐Ÿ˜‚








Sunday, 4 January 2026

2 cup morning ☕☕

Another great Sunday morning, good they keep coming. Today we have a service to go to, a friend who passed we both got to know better camping at McLean's mill campground a few years ago. Oops, I screwed up, not today, was in July.. I thought ๐Ÿค” was today as came up on my phone. Bugger. Vicki and John pulled in with their motor home, setup as we were there already. We had a very good time getting to know each other just a little better. A friend Melody, was managing the mill site, and told us of the camping there, that we might want to try it, so we did. Was a really nice place to spend time that spring I think it was. 

I went for a drive Friday, visit with my nephew and niece in his shop, was a really good visit, he's got the car he's been working on on the hoist, getting the body ready for the summer, "just get it on the road" is his mission, so can find out the bugs I wanna get rid of, or at least find. 

After I went towards McLean's mill, thought be a nice day to take a walk around this extremely beautiful place. So much history here, so much beauty. 

Part of my checking it out is I heard when I went to a City of Port Alberni meeting they had at Echo Center that this place was on the chopping block, that the city thinks of it as a cost, a cost that we "Port Alberni" can't afford. I listened really well you could tell the people putting this on were not invested in our town, they have an agenda, and McLean's mill has an expiration date. The city I believe is going to sell the property! 

How could they? It was gifted I thought to be kept as a part of our history of our valley. A part of a time when things were much different, when we lived where we worked, in close with friends and neighbors, and worked with them too. I was shocked to learn this, but the way the presenter mentioned the mill site, and the historical society building, our old arena, all were considered a drag on our city. 

What to do? Well I went to the historical society, and got some info from the head guys there, they are fighting for their lives to keep their building, and that alone will be hard to do. I joined the historical society, that was easy $20.00 and I'm a member. But McLean's mill, I'm not sure that anyone is fighting for it, the city I believe has complete control of the whole place, and if ya take a look, nothing is being done to keep it up. 


Will it be another piece of our history that'll be pushed away piece by piece? A building here, a loader there, oops two loaders cut up for scrap. I walked around the mill site, past the small homes, the kitchen, the mill itself, past a couple families that came on this day to look. Then after I got to the mill pond I turned to take a few more photos, and I see this old guy walking towards me, he was doing similar, looking around, of course I say "Hi" then after a minute I realized I knew him, Doug McLellan a guy I've known for along time, met him at my brother in-law's years ago. 

Well we walked and talked, he was there just to check on this motor that was in a part of the logging display, in the loading machine that would load the truck to bring the logs to the mill pond. He used to work on the motor, volunteer here. We had a good chinwag, Doug and I, told him what I thought was going on with the mill site, and he was not surprised, we both thought was a shame, and said what do you do?

I'm not sure what I'll do, but I believe just talking about can help, but what really needs to happen is people have to get pissed about it and go to the council meeting that's happening this month. Tell the city that destroying our history here in Port Alberni isn't allowed, to let it be plowed into the ground is not an option, we need to somehow develop this place, as people not only in Port Alberni, but all of Canada need to see what our history here on Vancouver Island was, how we came to be where we are, what it was like in the "Old Day's".

I know, I'm only one person, but I believe there are many more like me, young and old that would like to have that Mill site preserved and possibly working. I feel fortunate to have seen the mill running, watching the logging display, then the trucking and dumping in the pond, then hauling the logs up to the mill, then loading onto the carriage to be sawn, the saws running, two one above the other for the bigger logs. I can't say enough about how that process shows us about our early history. 

Will it just be gone? Will this city council just plow it into the ground? What do you think? I believe the city has run it's course with over spending, and is trying to catch-up. Everything that they can dump they are about to, and our history is looking to be the first to Go. 

Well I'm going to go to the first council meeting, and ask the questions, what are your plans for our history in Port Alberni? 
Just looked it up 2pm council meeting January 12th, I remember now, who that's working can attend a council meeting at 2pm? Another on the 26th, 2pm. Hmm, I wonder if there is one in the Evening? When some working people could attend? I'll be asking that too. Guess I found something to do. Retirement is good, now I'm a home owner in Port Alberni, is it my responsibility to get after council? Well somebody has to, I guess I'm one of the someone. 

See what comes, for the time being I've got a bone to pick with the people that are trying to shore up our city on the ground of our past. Selling the mill site I believe be a dam shame, but I believe after the meeting I attended, that that what this council is up to. 

Sunday morning thoughts, LoL ๐Ÿคฃ well now I'm getting ready to help preserve our history here. Hope I can make a difference. 

My walk around the mill site was great, I'll go again and again, as is a real beauty. 

Love our life ❤️ anchored in Port Alberni 

Thursday, 1 January 2026

Just like that it's a New Year ๐ŸŽŠ

A few fireworks, a click of the clock ⏰, and there we have it, 2026 is here. Polly and I had plans to go out, but Polly wasn't up to it, so put on another movie and watched the fireworks outside, then bed and a very good sleep we had. I have to say that a good sleep is more important to us than partying, although I did feel like we missed out last night, was going be a fun night. Oh well, can't have it all. 

On to a new year ๐ŸŽŠ, we all have some long range plans, something we either hope to do, or are sure we are going to do. We had the plan to travel, that's on hold now, and canceling flights is something I've never had to do before, not to hard if ya don't mind paying. I thought cancelation insurance was what it sounded like, but this experience shows me it's really not as it sounds. $400 more to cancel, and then ya don't get your $ back, you get a 16 month travel voucher. What a scam! 

This is the first time I'd ever bought travel insurance, and now I know the problem, buying a flight ✈️ too far ahead is not the best way to travel, as you could have something come up as I did, then your having to deal with business that doesn't want to give the $$ you've paid back. I really felt ripped off, as I thought travel insurance was what it said, but calling in and talking with the guy was like? What did I pay for? 

Well I haven't finished with it yet, I'll talk with him again, but it sure felt like we got ripped off, as getting a flight voucher for 16 months, I said "What if I can't travel again?" He said he'd go to bat for me with the airlines, but couldn't say for sure if I'd get my $ back. Bugger, that was my thoughts, maybe even more explicit! 

Anyway, I'm learning about another part of travel, every adventure there is a learning curve. Fine print is made so companies can keep your $$$ and you get a promise. No different that RV Parks, they really don't want to refund if you've paid, just a promise you can stay in the future, and Airbnb, some want and will refund, some not wanting to, but there i think we will get satisfaction, see how that goes. Just learning I chalk it up to. 

I'm on hold right now, Dr on January 5th, thinking probably more tests, then what? 
In the meantime Rambo still has a hickup I need to get fixed, and I have a few projects here I'll start on I'm thinking, but at this exact moment I find my ass kinda glued to the chair. 

I don't fight it, I've had this before, when I just don't feel like, "motivated". I'm in thinking mode I believe, mulling over what's next. I have a Murphy bed that we got a few weeks ago, in piece's, I'm going to put together, but unsure exactly how. I have a shed I want to move over, make room for another bathroom addition to our place, an en suite to our bedroom, that will be a bigger job for me, but I'm up for it, well at least in my mind ๐Ÿ˜‚. 

Then another deck, replacement of the rotten one on the other side of our trailer, mobile home, always a head scratcher when going to say what our place is. Polly always searching for the right words to describe it, RV, Trailer, Mobile home, Modular home? ??  All can describe it, just which one do ya use?

I say mobile home, although it really doesn't seem mobile, no Wheels under anymore, but I'm sure it could have some installed and moved again. 

Anyway a few projects here, but no ambition yet! I'm sure it will come, I can't sit around too long before I get going. 

Today a walk, that's a start, tomorrow Friday, maybe I'll start then? The shed needs cleaning up, and organizing before I move it, that'll be nice to get that done. 

No big words of wisdom for this New Year, like usual, just watch the money, that is where all the effort will go in this world ๐ŸŒ. Arms dealers, government's, and "AI" costing billions. I shake my head daily. While the average guy just keeps his head above water. 

So happy New Year ๐ŸŽ‰ ๐Ÿฅณ ๐Ÿฅณ 

Still loving our life ❤️ daily